The Risk Management Challenge

Managing clients and their emotions is no easy task. Investors are looking for nearly double-digit returns, but say if forced to choose they would take safety over performance. Balancing risk and return is a key focus for client conversations. Our latest Global Survey of Individual Investors found that understanding risk is a major area of…

Time to Prepare Portfolios for Volatility’s Return?

All has been relatively quiet across global markets for some time now. Except for a few short-lived volatility flare-ups, stocks have been climbing higher in many markets. In fact, the U.S. stock market, as measured by the S&P 500®,1 was up more than 15%* for the one-year period ending June 1, 2017, while the STOXX Europe…

Goals-based Investing: A Different Approach to Managing Risk

Most clients view risk as losing assets, market volatility or underperforming the benchmark, but isn’t the more relevant risk whether or not they will reach their goals? Isn’t that what really counts? Perhaps their financial plans should be structured around those goals – and so should client discussions.

Risk Budgeting

This video offers a fresh perspective on the function of risk in evaluating investments and constructing portfolios. From examining the relative long-term stability of risk as compared to that of returns, to establishing a risk budget, to identifying investments that can act as risk reducers or return enhancers, this video provides unique insights with practical…

Advisor Atlas: Republicans and Trump in the New Administration

SUSAN R. OLSON Vice President of Government Relations Natixis Investment Managers — U.S. Distribution As President Trump and the Republican-controlled Congress take office, they bring the potential to generate dynamic change in many areas of the financial services industry and markets more broadly. These areas include business regulation, tax policy, and trade policy – each…

Perspectives des marchés pour 2018 : Évaluer les risques et les occasions potentiels

Market Outlook 2018: Assessing Potential Risks and Opportunities Natixis Chief Market Strategist David Lafferty shares some thoughts on what investors might expect in the year ahead.

Stratégie d’actions à faible volatilité dans un marché haussier qui se prolonge

CLARICE AVERY, CFA® Investment Strategist Natixis Investment Managers – U.S. Distribution Alors que le marché haussier des actions traverse pesamment sa neuvième année, la probabilité de reculs boursiers plus importants augmente. Les valorisations boursières sont exagérées, tandis que les taux des titres à revenu fixe sont encore faibles, mais sur le point d’augmenter. Et comme…

Le défi en gestion de risque

Servir les clients en tenant compte de leurs émotions est une tâche ardue. Les investisseurs recherchent des rendements s’approchant des deux chiffres, mais soutiennent que s’ils devaient choisir, la sécurité l’emporterait sur le rendement. L’atteinte d’un équilibre entre le risque et le rendement est un élément clé des entretiens avec les clients. Selon notre plus récent…

Est-il temps de préparer les portefeuilles à un retour de la volatilité?

Depuis quelque temps déjà, la situation est relativement tranquille à l’échelle des marchés mondiaux. Hormis quelques brèves poussées de volatilité, les actions sont en progression sur plusieurs marchés. En fait, le marché boursier américain, tel que mesuré par l’indice S&P 500®1, a inscrit une hausse de plus de 15 %* sur 12 mois, au 1er juin 2017, tandis que…

Budgétisation du risque

Cette vidéo offre une nouvelle perspective à l’égard de la fonction du risque dans l’évaluation des placements et la construction des portefeuilles. En examinant la stabilité relative à long terme du risque par rapport au rendement, le processus de budgétisation du risque et la sélection de placements qui peuvent servir à réduire le risque et…

Advisor Atlas : La nouvelle administration des républicains et de Donald Trump

SUSAN R. OLSON Vice President of Government Relations Gestionnaire de placements Natixis — U.S. Distribution Le président Donald Trump et le Congrès dirigé par les républicains ont pris les rênes du gouvernement en amenant avec eux la possibilité de changer la dynamique dans de nombreux domaines du secteur financier et des marchés plus généralement. Notamment…